Puppies! Puppies from the sky!
2003-10-25 // 8:14 p.m..

So I wake up this morning, and the first thing i'm aware of, is that the Cap'n is sitting up at the desk, and he sounds kind of sniffly. Seeing as this might be from any number of things, ranging from allergies to a sad thing he is thinking or reading online, or even a nightmare, my first thought is to just let him be for the moment... while I wake up and figure out what is up...

My second thought is that I REALLY better not mention the whacked out dream I just had, because it looks like he's sad-sniffly, and I dreamt that I kept finding a Rottweiler puppy in the strangest pf places- like oh, my underwear drawer, the closet, the clothes hamper... not puppies- puppy. I guess I kept giving him back to someone, or putting him away or something... and he kept showing back up again- you know how dreams are. It didn't make any sense, it just happened.

So I wake up, laying there... aware I cannot possibly get back to sleep, because the insommnia has kicked in, and besides, the Cap'n still looks sniffly, and that's bugging me. In case it's something BAD sad, I ask him casually if he woke up very long ago, and that kind of thing- you know...

He says, "I kept dreaming about finding Rottweiler puppies!!!" waaaahhh... "one even fell out of the SKY wearing a little parachute!!" he mock-wails. "Oh gawd..." He rubs his face, and I unconsiously mimic it... yes. There is something SO wrong with that.

How wierd is THAT?

Now... we've both been trying to kind of play it down to one another, that we have been suffering serious 'I miss the moofhead' and 'I wanna new puppy'-itis. :P We have apparently had Rottie-puppies-on-the-brain for a good week now, each kind of trying not to say much to the other, lest we offend... you know, we're over the /grief/ but... it's not a good time.

Or so we keep saying to one another... You know, we have the kittens now, and no yard, and well, you know... right? We're saving for Disneyland, and a Rottie puppy from a good breeder is as expensive as a trip to Disneyland (well almost!) and... and... and...

And mostly, we PLANNED on getting one eventually- but I don't feel comfortable getting another 'service dog'. My physical health just doesn't, in my opinion, warrent it anymore. We live in a one-bedroom apartment... we PLAN to move to a house or larger flat at some point, and THEN we plan to buy the Rottie puppy we made up our minds we wanted, right after we lost Axel. It just wasn't TIME. you know?

So... I guess emotionally, it's time.

Kind of a drag too, because it's going to be years before we can get a house with a yard and everything, and you'd think that a lot of things would rank higher than buying some puppy, yea? heh... life SO does not work that way.

Truth is, we just can't stand to adopt one who might have the kind of problems a rescue-type dog has, and I really do want to train the new pup to do a lot of the service dog tasks that Axel did- especially in regard to my PTSD. I just don't plan to take him everywhere I go, as a formal service dog would do. I just don't need that physical support the way I did, and I am grateful for that, you know? But I want to buy a puppy that comes with things like OFA (certified) hips and a gaurentee it doesn't have a fatal heart problem. I couldn't stand to lose a second one... :P

Why a Rottie? I think you'd have to have owned one, to know. So much of what made Axel so good for us, so much of what we loved in him, are breed-traits. Things that all Rottweilers have inherently- especially the GOOD ones!! :) We want to get a GOOD one. The best way to do that is a reputable breeder, you know?

Life is amusing, you know? It just gets stranger and stranger, and more complicated...

Listening to: ooooh scary movies on TV!
Consuming: A caffeine-laden frauppichino shake-thingy
Today my t-shirt should read:

0 comments so far

Before + After

The Cabin-Boy wanders off again. - 2006-06-15
She's gotta be the Cap'n's Baby NOW! - 2006-06-03
Unpack your Adjectives! - 2006-05-30
IT has arrived. - 2006-05-25
Stolen and Abused... - 2006-05-22




moon phases


flying_atlatl got their Neopet at http://www.neopets.com

I sent that Man of Hers to get his golf on This egg hatches on 04/05/06! Adopt one today! This egg hatches on 04/05/06! Adopt one today! This egg hatches on 04/05/06! Adopt one today! This egg hatches on 04/05/06! Adopt one today! This egg hatches on 04/05/06! Adopt one today!